Sunday, April 7, 2013

*Review* Glass Girl By Laura Anderson Kurk

Glass Girl
By Laura Anderson Kurk
Published April 1st 2013

The ice cold fear I’d felt, not knowing if Wyatt was alive, pressed into the wall with other girls and surrounded by guys who were unspeakably brave, hit my body again in a wave. This was trauma—the gift that keeps on giving.

When Meg Kavanagh finds herself in the unthinkable role of grieving sister, she discovers some harsh truths—parents aren’t perfect, life’s not always sweet, and the dead don’t write back. Worried she might have caused Wyatt’s death, Meg folds her heart into a box. Her famous mom grieves by slowly disappearing, and her dad copes by moving them to a small town in Wyoming.

What she finds in Wyoming blindsides her.

His name is Henry, and he’s a rancher’s son who pulls Meg into his larger-than-life world and shows her that being sensitive is not an excuse to sit this one out. Meg wants to be brave like Henry because the best things in life—like falling in love and finding mercy—require uncommon courage. And Henry has a secret that changes everything.

From YA author Laura Anderson Kurk comes an unconventional and bittersweet story of first love and family ties. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sara Zarr will appreciate Kurk’s authentically imperfect characters and emotional storytelling.

With characters who feel real enough to walk the halls of your high school, Glass Girl sheds light on tenderness, the rush of first love, and the miracle of mercy.


Its rare to find a book that touches your soul but when you do..grab hold of the book and track down the author. Glass Girl is one of those books.From the first page until the last you are sucked into Meg and Henry's world.It touches on first love,death,grieving,grace and overcoming pain.Glass Girl takes you on the Journey of Meg and her family as they move to Wyoming.Meg is a junior and at school meet Henry who works on his fathers Ranch/Farm.I see alot of Sarah Dressen in Laura Anderson Kurk and that is a big Kudos to her.I honestly have nothing to critique about Glass Girl.Its simply a great read.I love the message and that there is a christian message in it.I have to hope many will take the time to read Glass Girl as its one of those books that after you read it you might smack yourself and go why did I wait so long to read it?Perfect Glass the Sequel to Glass Girl will be out June 2013.It will be in Henry's Point of View.Please Laura Anderson Kurk give yourself a pat on the a happy dance..or even a squirrel dance.You Rock!!!


No comments:

Post a Comment